The world of Rugby League.

Newcastle Knights Team

The Newcastle Knights (aka 'Knights') are a Newcastle based Rugby League team.

The Newcastle Knights formed in 1988 and within a decade won their first premiership in 1997. They didn’t have to wait long for their second title, winning again in 2001.

There were high hopes for the Knights in 2012 with the arrival of champion coach Wayne Bennett, but it was a frustratingly inconsistent year for Newcastle, finishing out of the finals in 12th place.

Home Ground: EnergyAustralia Stadium

Premierships: 1997, 2001

Past Five Finishes:

2012 12th
2011 Qualifying Finalists (8th)
2010 11th
2009 Qualifying Finalists (7th)
2008 9th  

Dally M Award

1998 - Andrew Johns
1999 – Andrew Johns
2004 – Danny Buderus

Season 2013

Coach: Wayne Bennett

Kurt Gidley

David Fa’alogo (Huddersfield), Mitchell Frei (Broncos), Joseph Leilua (Roosters), Toka Likiliki (Warriors), Beau Scott (Dragons), Jeremy Smith (Sharks), Anthony Quinn (Storm)

Losses: Sam Anderson (Panthers), Ethan Cook (Panthers) Joel Edwards (Raiders), Kurt Mann (Storm), Wes Naiqama (Panthers), Kyle O’Donnell (Panthers), Junior Sau (Storm), Zeb Taia (Catalans Dragons), Evarn Tuimavave

Newcastle Knights Team Details

Also known as: Newcastle Knights