The world of Rugby League.

Students International: Wales 20 England 18

Wales are the Student International Champions of the British Isles after beating England 20-18 to lift the Four Nations trophy for the first time in three years.
Students International: Wales 20 England 18
by NRL

Wales are the Student International Champions of the British Isles after beating England 20-18 to lift the Four Nations trophy for the first time in three years.

A draw would have been enough for the Welsh to take the title on points difference but Mark Wool's final conversion after Yannic Parker's second try of the evening gave Wales a deserved win.

England had the better of the first half but Wales, fired up by the experienced Clive Griffiths at half-time, fought back after the break and in the end were deserved champions, the best team of the tournament.

The visitors took the lead after an early Welsh mistake gave England possession and they didn't waste it. Greg Scott forced his way over from close range and Gareth Hynes converted.

Wales had chances to score back after winning a goal-line drop-out then a scrum but both were squandered through mistakes of their own.

Finally, after winning successive sets, centre Simon Wright ran through after good work from Owain Griffiths and Kristian Hawkes. Mark Wool converted.

England regained the lead when Evan Simons finished off a fine passing move scoring in the corner. Hynes did well to convert.

Wales scored their second after a scrambled set of passes led to Yannic Parker touching down but Wool's conversion was just wide of the posts.

But England had the last say in the first half. Alistair Leake did well to roll over and ground with Hynes converting to give then an eight-point advantage at the interval.

Wales were fired up after the break and were determined to get over the line first.

Parker almost scored his second, looking to ground Hawkes' kick but the ball talk an awkward bounce and the chance was lost.

But as soon as Wales regained the ball, they advanced up the field and scored ? Lewis Warner going over in the corner after an excellent set of passes. Wool missed the kick and Wales remained four points down.

England looked for a try back to extend their lead but were constantly denied. Scott Ellam was held up over the line and Hamish Locke was brutally but legally pushed into touch, denying both players a score.

And when Wales were awarded a penalty on England's 30 metre line with six minutes to go, they took advantage. Parker scored his second in the corner after Scott Amber and Mike Ward moved the ball over to the wing. Wool converted to give Wales a 20-18 lead.

1. Lewis Warner
2. Jason Blackmore
3. Simon Wright
4. Yannic Parker
5. James Gahan
6. Kristian Hawkes
7. Scott Amber
8. Izaak Duffy
9. Owain Griffiths
10. Tom Morgan
11. Mike Ward
12. Luke Evans
13. Mark Wool
14. Harrison Elliott
15. Lewys Weaver
16. Callum Wilkinson
17. Nathan Rainer
19. Louis Singleton
20. Tom Beaumont

Tries: Wright (17), Parker (30, 74), Warner (51)
Goals: Wool 1/3

1. Greg Scott
2. Evan Simons
3. Hamish Locke
4. Marcus Brooker
5. Gareth Hynes
6. Patrick Toft
7. Adam Fairhead
8. James Wallace
9. Scott Ellam
10. Dan Haney
11. Sam Blainey
12. Leigh Sanders
13. Liam Thompson
14. Alistair Leake
15. Dion Chapman
16. Jack Powley
18. Tom Davies
19. Matt Bradley

Tries: Scott (7), Simons (21), Leake (38)
Goals: Hynes 3/3

Referee: Danny McNeice
Half-time: 10-18

Your thoughts?

You need to login or register to contribute here

Follow on Facebook

Related Profiles

View profile pages including statistics, results, news, photos and more on all of the following...

Popular News Stories