The world of Rugby League.

NZRL National Secondary Schools Tournament - Awards

Otara Leisure Centre was the venue for the NZ Secondary School Rugby League Nationals on Thursday night.
NZRL National Secondary Schools Tournament - Awards
by NRL

Otara Leisure Centre was the venue for the NZ Secondary School Rugby League Nationals on Thursday night.

Hosted by Stephen McIvor and attended by the sixteen schools, along with Match Officials, match managers, tournament staff and volunteers the awards evening was buzzing with excitement as everyone looked forward to the finals day and enjoyed the opportunity to acknowledge the success of others.

All the speakers congratulated the players on their approach to the tournament both on and off the field, with their focus on fair play and respect for themselves and others. Everyone agreed that the tournament had been a great success, well run and a hugely positive experience for everyone involved, all were keen to return.

Vic Tamati from 'It's Not OK!" spoke about the pleasure he had had during the week, watching the young men playing rugby league and also working with them off field. Brendon Crompton from NZ Police agreed, adding that league players make great police officers and he encouraged them to consider the Police as a career.

The guest speaker for the evening was Brian 'Bluey' McClennan who shared with the players his thoughts on how to take their talent and turn it into success, reminding them that talent will only take them so far and that to truly be successful they will need to work hard, surround themselves with good people and make sensible choices. He referred them to the book about 10,000 hours of work to successful achievement and gave some examples of how this has been found to apply to others sports.

Garry Carnahan, of the NZ Secondary Schools Council also addressed the group and congratulated them on choosing sport and choosing school sport. He said they would make friends for life and by choosing sport they were learning respect, to never give up and that if you want something you have to work at it, which were great lessons for life. He added a further congratulations to the players for choosing to play rugby league, the fastest growing sport in Secondary Schools

He said that the New Zealand Rugby League was leading the way in its approach to treating the sport as more than just a game and that this was especially evident at the tournament, with its role models, skills sessions, leadership programmes, school visits and the involvement with It's Not OK.

The Awards made on the night were:

It's Not OK! Fairplay Award - Roger Sheck, Otahuhu College

Samurai Match Official of the Tournament - Jamal Thompson, Auckland

Passion, Integrity and Guts Award (Awarded to a player in each team) ?
Aorere College Viliami Kaveinga
Aranui High School Shayde Turner
Fraser High School Rei Tipa
Manurewa High School Toetu David
Mt Albert Grammar Connor Mau'u
Mt Roskill Grammar Metia Lisati
Otahuhu College Viliami Lolohea
Papakura High School Kristopher Smithson
Papatoetoe High School Kardia Siaki
Rangitoto College Aaron O'Toole
St John's College John Ross
St Paul's College Viliami Maloni
Southern Cross College Fred Palea
Tangaroa College Miro Atera
Tokoroa High School Yannis Mea
Wainuiomata High School Joshua Kohika

NZ Secondary School Rugby League Nationals Tournament Team ?

1 Roger Sheck Otahuhu College
2 Fine Faingaa Aorere College
3 Vili Iloahefaiva Otahuhu College
4 Viliami Lolohea Otahuhu College
5 Pharoah Tumupu St Paul's College
6 Axl Kingi Tokoroa High School
7 Kauri Aupouri-Puketapu Wainuiomata High School
8 Samuel Lisone Tangaroa College
9 Matthew Halalilo Southern Cross College
10 Vincent Afoa Otahuhu College
11 Miro Atera Tangaroa College
12 Sione Feao Otahuhu College
13 Tala Mamea Southern Cross College
14 Christopher Satae St Paul's College
15 Metia Lisati Mt Roskill Grammar
16 Tyler Tane Wainuiomata College
17 Matthew Shortland Papakura High School

Coach of the Tournament Tama Teaukura, Tokoroa High School

Manager of the Tournament Kylee Matenga, Wainuiomata High School

Trainer of the Tournament Kams Delana, Southern Cross College

Best Haka - Southern Cross College

Warriors Emerging Talent - Codie Christensen, Fraser High School

Two awards have been held over until after the final days play as the contenders are so close on points, these are the Bill Sharp Golden Boot award and the Manukau Institute of Technology Most Valuable Player. These will be announced after the Grand Final today.

Your thoughts?

You need to login or register to contribute here

Follow on Facebook

Related Profiles

View profile pages including statistics, results, news, photos and more on all of the following...

Popular News Stories