The world of Rugby League.

NSW Cup Finals Week 3 - Match Previews

Previews of NSW Cup Week 3 Finals with both matches to be played at Leichhardt Oval this Sunday with the first one being North Sydney up against Balmain at 1:15pm followed by Bankstown City vs Wentworthville at 3:00pm.
NSW Cup Finals Week 3 - Match Previews
by NRL

Previews of NSW Cup Week 3 Finals with both matches to be played at Leichhardt Oval this Sunday with the first one being North Sydney up against Balmain at 1:15pm followed by Bankstown City vs Wentworthville at 3:00pm.

Sunday 27 September @ Leichhardt Oval 1.15pm

North Sydney Bears coach Wayne Lambkin has named an unchanged line up from their 35-8 qualifying final victory over the Cronulla Sharks. Lambkin has what every coach dreams of when his side is about to play a preliminary final, a NIL in the injuries column. For the Tigers, coach Paul Fletcher has opted for Matthew Ryan in the centres in place of Brett Lane in an effort to inject some size into the backline. The battle will be an intriguing one in the front row with recently crowned NSW Cup Player of the Year David Gower and Al Schirnack taking on the experienced Bears combination of Chris Trembath and Garret Crossman. Both Schirnack and Gower have been elevated to the NRL by Tim Sheens this season and will be looking to cement a first grade spot next season. For the Bears it is a case of stopping the Balmain go-forward thus nullifying the effect Josh Lewis can have on the game while Balmain must smother the Bears lethal halves combination of Justin Hunt and Jarryd Hogan should they want to make the 2009 NSW Cup Grand Final.

North Sydney: 1 Samu Wara, 2 Curtis Johnson, 3 Greg Nichols, 4 Bladen Baird, 5 Reece Robinson, 6 Justin Hunt, 7 Jarryd Hogan, 8 Chris Trembath [c], 9 Beau Falloon, 10 Garrett Crossman, 11 David Tyrell, 12 Brett Blaker, 13 Dion Apps. Subs: 14 Daniel Sayegh, 15 John Kaifoto, 16 Sean Dalton, 17 Matt Hunt, 18 Vince Ngaro (one to be omitted). Coach: Wayne Lambkin.

Balmain: 1 Sean Meaney, 2 Billy Callaway, 3 Lee Bennett [c], 4 Matthew Ryan, 5 Junior Roqica, 6 Gavin Cowan, 7 Josh Lewis, 8 Al Schirnack, 9 Ryan Carr, 10 David Gower, 11 Dean Webster, 12 Willie Mataka, 13 Jared Farlow. Subs: 14 Fletcher Hawkins, 15 Eloni Vunakece, 16 Brett Lane, 17 Jarvan White, 18 Ben Falcone, 19 Sioelo Makaui, 20 Liam Roach (three to be omitted). Coach: Paul Fletcher.

Referee: Gavin West

Results this season:
Round 10 - North Sydney 18 defeated Balmain Ryde 6 @ North Sydney Oval
Round 16 - Balmain Ryde 31 defeated North Sydney 18 @ Leichhardt Oval

Sunday 27 September @ Leichhardt Oval 3pm

Many an expert predicted this match would be fought out on Grand Final day but after a loss to Balmain Ryde in the qualifying finals Wentworthville find themselves on the same side of the draw as the red hot favourites for the 2009 NSW Cup Premiership. The game will feature 17 players with NRL experience and the winner of this match will wear the favourites tag into next weekend's Grand Final at ANZ Stadium. Wentworthville coach Rip Taylor will be studying the Bulls qualifying final tape with earnest. The Bulls leaked 30 points to the eighth placed Jets and Taylor knows that if he can isolate the Bulls defensive weaknesses he has the side which can pile the points on in quick succession. Taylor would be less than impressed with his side's recent form but Wentworthville are finals specialists and always seem to lift for the big games. Wentworthville will be sweating on the inclusion of Jonathan Wright who will more than likely drop down if Krisnan Inu is deemed fit to play. For Terry Lamb it is a matter of separating his players from the emotion of Friday night's blockbuster at ANZ Stadium and getting them to concentrate on their game ahead.

Bankstown: 1 Brent Crisp , 2 Heka Nanai, 3 Tim Winitana, 4 Matt Utai, 5 Nick Taylor, 6 Daniel Holdsworth, 7 Ben Barba, 8 Charlie Leaeno, 9 Nathan Smith, 10 Fred Briggs, 11 Danny Williams [c], 12 Brad Morrin, 13 Lee Te Maari. Subs: 14 John Kite, 16 Jake Foster, 17 Harlan Alaalatoa, 18 Trent Cutler, 19 Nathan Benny, 20 Chris Ward, 21 Pee Wee Moke (three to be omitted). Coach: Terry Lamb.

Wentworthville: 1 Tim Mortimer, 2 Etu Uaisele, 3 Taulima Tautai, 4 Mark Luland, 5 Ken Sio, 6 Mark O'Grady, 7 Shane Croft, 8 Broderick Wright, 9 Anthony Mitchell, 10 Jeremy Latimore [c], 11 Weller Hauraki, 12 Justin Horo, 13 Brendan Oake. Subs: 14 James Grehan, 15 Mitchell Allgood, 16 Junior Paulo, 17 Tim Robinson, 18 Jacob Byrne, 20 Taniela Lasalo (two to be omitted). Coach: Rip Taylor.

Referee: Adam Gee

Results this season:
Round 1 - Wentworthville 22 defeated Bankstown City 20 @ The Crest Stadium
Round 8 - Bankstown City 42 defeated Wentworthville @ Ringrose Park

Your thoughts?

You need to login or register to contribute here

Follow on Facebook

Related Profiles

View profile pages including statistics, results, news, photos and more on all of the following...

Popular News Stories