The world of Rugby League.

Bulldogs take settled side into beyondblue Cup

Canterbury-Bankstown will take an unchanged side to that which defeated the Warriors into Sunday's beyondblue Cup clash against Newcastle at ANZ Stadium.
Bulldogs take settled side into beyondblue Cup
by NRL

Canterbury-Bankstown will take an unchanged side to that which defeated the Warriors into Sunday's beyondblue Cup clash against Newcastle at ANZ Stadium.

Head coach Des Hasler has kept all 17 players from the Warriors match in their same positions for the Knights game, with forward Marty Taupau - who travelled to Auckland as part of a five man bench - named to play NSW Cup this weekend.

The beyondblue Cup was struck in late 2009 to raise awareness for beyondblue, which seeks to provide a national focus and community leadership to increase the capacity of the broader Australian community to prevent depression and respond effectively.

The Cup is an important event in the Bulldogs in the Community Programme's yearly calendar, with beyondblue one of the Club's six core charity partners.

The Bulldogs currently hold the Cup thanks to a Ben Barba inspired 32-22 victory in round 25 last season, while the overall tally stands at one apiece with the Knights the first to lift the trophy back in early 2010.

Sunday's NRL fixture kicks off at 3pm.

Bulldogs Toyota Cup coach Andy Patmore has made just one change to his side for Sunday's clash against the Knights with Ryan Wilson included in the centres in place of Louis Mackenzie Taylor.

The Bulldogs come into the match off their most impressive effort of 2012, downing reigning premiers the Warriors 28-16 on Sunday to move to a two and one record for the season.

They face the Knights, also two and one, who sit on top of the Toyota Cup ladder after three rounds thanks to a points differential of plus 64.

Taupau's inclusion has left Bulldogs NSW Cup coach Barry Ward with an even greater wealth of talent from which to choose heading into Saturday's clash with the Newtown Jets at Henson Park, kick off 3pm.

Ward has NRL experience in Michael Lett, Luke MacDougall, Mitch Brown, Tim Lafai, Kris Keating, Trent Cutler, Tim Browne, Taupau, and Jake Foster in his starting 13, with the Bulldogs one of only two sides to remain undefeated for the season thus far.

They face off against the Jets (2-1) in the in the Triple H FM Match of the Day, with the game to be broadcast on 100.1FM or via the net on

Teams for this weekend are as follows:

1 Ben Barba
2 Steve Turner
3 Josh Morris
4 Jonathan Wright
5 Bryson Goodwin
6 Josh Reynolds
7 Trent Hodkinson
8 Aiden Tolman
9 Michael Ennis [c]
10 Sam Kasiano
11 Frank Pritchard
12 Dene Halatau
13 David Stagg

14 James Graham
15 Greg Eastwood
16 Corey Payne
17 Joel Romelo

Coach Des Hasler

1 Michael Lett
2 Luke Macdougall
3 Mitch Brown
4 Tim Lafai
5 Brett Lane
6 Kris Keating
7 Trent Cutler
8 Tim Browne
9 Shane Pumipi
10 Martin Taupau
11 Josh Jackson
12 Jake Foster
13 Dale Finucane

14 Jake Finn
15 Harlan Alaalatoa
16 Ray Moujalli
17 Kose Lelei
18 Junior Roqica

Coach Barry Ward

Toyota Cup
1 Gerard McCallum
2 Sam Ahofono
3 Ryan Wilson
4 Ed Murphy
5 John Sila
6 Moses Mbye [c]
7 Frederick Robinson
8 David Klemmer
9 Dean Janda
10 Michael Ioapo
11 Tupou Sopoaga
12 Danny Fualalo
13 Lachlan Burr

14 Blake Carter
16 David Minute
19 Jonathan Taefu
21 Paul Carter

Coach Andy Patmore

Your thoughts?

You need to login or register to contribute here

Follow on Facebook

Related Profiles

View profile pages including statistics, results, news, photos and more on all of the following...

Popular News Stories