The world of Rugby League.

2013 Newtown Jets Award Winners

Kurt Kara and Nafe Seluini were the big winners at the Newtown Jets annual presentation evening.
2013 Newtown Jets Award Winners

Kurt Kara and Nafe Seluini were the big winners at the Newtown Jets annual presentation evening.

The Newtown Jets RLFC staged their Presentation Night for 2013 at the Petersham RSL Club on the evening of Wednesday, 2nd October 2013.

Key speakers at the function included the Newtown Jets President Barry Vining, senior Director and long-term sponsor Terry Rowney, Newtown Jets VB NSW Cup coach Greg Matterson and Sydney Roosters CEO Brian Canavan.

The major prize-winners on the night were: -

Best and Fairest for 2013: Kurt Kara;

Fred Daly Memorial Shield winner for 2013: Nafe Seluini.

Other award winning players and coaching staff were: -

Best Back: Henare Wells;

Coach’s award: Ryley Jacks;

Leading points scorer: Paul Rokolati - 158 points (12 tries, 55 goals);

Leading try scorer: Henare Wells - 21 tries;

Most improved player: Chris Taripo;

Most consistent player: Ray Moujalli;

Players’ player award: Joint winners - Tinirau Arona and Brad Barrett;

100 VB NSW Cup games played: Khalid Deeb;

150 VB NSW Cup games coached: Greg Matterson.

Representative honours won in 2013: -

NSWRL VB NSW Cup representative team: Tinirau Arona (The VB NSW Cup rep team defeated the Queensland Cup rep team 22-18 at ANZ Stadium, curtain-raiser to State of Origin III);

Samoa v Tonga Test Match ( played at Centrebet Stadium, Penrith on 20th April 2013):

Samoa: Lama Tasi;

Tonga: Samisoni Langi, Michael Oldfield and Nafe Seluini.

NSWRL VB NSW Cup Team of the Year: Kane Evans and Henare Wells.

Probable 2013 Rugby League World Cup selections: -

Cook Islands: Tinirau Arona (Captain), Dylan Napa and Chris Taripo;

Fiji: Kane Evans;

Italy: Aidan Guerra;

Samoa: Isaac Liu, Frank-Paul Nuuausala and Lama Tasi;

Tonga: Samisoni Langi, Michael Oldfield and Nafe Seluini.

Other awards made on the night were: -

Club Persons of the Year: Joint Winners - Jeff Gabriel and Olga Lauricella;

Photographers’ awards: Gary Sutherland, Jason McCawley, Sara Leonard and Mike Magee;

Website Management award: Susan Harkus;

Media Management award: Glen Dwyer;

Social Media award: Jeff Gabriel;

Outstanding Service to the Newtown RLFC awards: Mike Shannon, Robert Simpson and Caitlin Cahill;

Ball Boys’ awards: Corey Griffiths-Simpson, Tom Sargood, Lachlan Bourke-Moody, Ayden Stevens and Zac Doyle;

Statisticians’ awards: Patrick Curteis and Matthew Borg;

Medical Services award: Dr Leanne Hutchison;

Physiotherapy Services award: Adam Bentley;

Massage Therapy awards: Felicity Rinaldi and Ian Blewitt.

Two special presentations of framed 2013 Newtown RLFC jerseys were made to representatives from SCU - More Generous Banking and the Petersham RSL Club.

Some explanatory notes on the Fred Daly Memorial Shield

Fred Daly was a member of the Australian House of Representatives from 1943 to 1975, and was a Minister in the Whitlam Federal Labor Government from 1972 to 1975.

His Federal electorate of Grayndler was (coincidentally) largely based on the Newtown District Rugby League Football Club boundaries for a considerable period of that time.

Fred was Newtown’s Official Club Patron from 1955 to 1995 (the year of his death) and he was a loyal and generous supporter of the Newtown Bluebags and the Newtown Jets. During his time as a Federal Minister Henson Park was extensively remodelled and the floodlights were installed, a truly massive project that would cost many millions of dollars in today’s money.

The Fred Daly Memorial Shield is awarded annually to the player who is deemed to have contributed most to the Newtown RLFC in that season in a number of nominated areas.

These criteria include:

* Playing performance
* Positivity of attitude
* Demonstrated leadership traits
* Popularity and respect of his team-mates
* Strength of character.

The 2013 winner of the Fred Daly Memorial Shield, Nafe Seluini, clearly meets all of these requirements.

The Newtown RLFC community warmly congratulates Nafe Seluini on his achievements in 2013 (and of course in 2012 when he was a key member of Newtown’s VB NSW Cup premiership-winning team).

Your thoughts?

You need to login or register to contribute here

Follow on Facebook

Related Profiles

View profile pages including statistics, results, news, photos and more on all of the following...
Newtown Jets

Popular News Stories